Race Recap: Run for the Parks – 4 Mile

After yesterday’s run (or walk is a better description), rftp1311 I wasn’t sure how today was going to go. I got to the park early (even after unexpected subway construction detours) and headed to registration to pick up my bib. I stretched and did some quick muscle massages then took my jacket and phone to baggage check. It was CHILLY without that jacket!! Anywho, I hopped into my corral and met a talker. I don’t just mean she was someone to talk to, this woman didn’t stop. I know too much about her and her 40’s singles vacation she’s going on. Then we got to the start and away I went!

THOUGHTS:

Mile 0.0 – 0.5
– Dang, my knee hurts
– I could turn around now and pick up my bag and go back to bed and pretend this never happened
– I wonder if I’ll finish
– I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me

Mile 0.5 – 1.5
– Is my knee behaving because of adrenaline
– Why are so many people out of breath… I feel like we just started
– Does that mean I’m going slower than I think?

Mile 1.5 – 3.5
– I. hate. the west side of Central Park
– Hills can die.
– How am I keeping my pace?
– Downhill! Weeeeee!

Mile 3.5 – 4.0
– Almost there!
– Hallelujah!
– Bagel? Apple? Both? Decisions decisions.

I finished with a PR! When I started running, I was running 11:00+ min/mile, today I hit an official average of 8:31 min/mile. I know for a fact that none of that was me. My knee gave out as soon as I crossed the finish line – I am so thankful for some supernatural healing during the race. It gave me a positive attitude and allowed me to cheer on those around me (even if it was just sending good thoughts).

I was able to come home and take a long nap after watching a Newspring Church service and taking Toby on a walk.  I was up until 2am working last night and it certainly paid its toll. Then I rewarded myself with this amazingly tasty  and easy breakfast: 1/2 of a yellow pepper, about a cup of chopped asparagus, and 1 applegate sausage link, sautéed in coconut oil, 2 tablespoons of salsa, 2 scrambled eggs, and bacon. In its entirety, this meal has only 397 calories! breakfast

Leave a Reply

