Broccoli Fritters from PaleOMG

For a month or two now, I have been following the blog, PaleOMG. I have tried countless recipes and each one has exceeded my expectations.  Everything is so stinkin’ delicious. It is definite possibility I’ll have to buy her newest cookbook when it’s released in June.

I should get a few things straight: No, I am not on the paleo diet. Yes, I limit the amount of grains and dairy I eat and therefore make a lot of paleo friendly recipes. It turns out, the alternatives make food way tastier.

On the menu tonight, were Broccoli Fritters! I picked up a bunch of vegetables from a side market on my way home from work the other night and this was a perfect way to use the broccoli. I also found it completely genius that this recipe uses just the stems, rathe than wasting the bottoms that no one really eats. I cut off the sprouts at the top and put them away so I can use it for another meal!

broccoli fritterPaleo Broccoli Fritters – from PaleOMG website

Ingredients
  • 6-7 broccoli stems, shredded (about 1.5-2 cups)
  • 2 eggs, whisked
  • 1¾ cup almond meal
  • ½ sweet onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • lots of salt and pepper
Instructions
  1. Send your broccoli stems through a shredder. I used a food processor with the shredding attachment which made it go by super fast.
  2. Add your shredded broccoli to a large bowl along with all other ingredients and mix well.
  3. Heat up a large skillet over medium-high heat with a bit of fat in it. Use a large spoon and your hands to ball up a fritter and add to a skillet. It doesn’t need to be flat, you’ll flatten it out after you flip it.
  4. Cook the fritter for about 3-4 minutes, then use a spatula to flip, then flatten out with the spatula. Cook for another 4 minutes or so.
  5. Once the fritters are crisp on both sides, eat them. I topped mine with a grass fed beef burger. Genius.

I went ahead and threw everything except for the eggs into my Ninja and pulsed it until it got to a nice chunky pulp consistency. Then I stirred the eggs in to make sure all the ingredients were combined well. I found this recipe makes 5 good sized fritters. I topped one with a grass fed beef burger (per the website recommendation) and a tomato slice. AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS!

Nutrition (1 Fritter):
Calories – 46
Fat – 2.1g
Carbs – 4g
Protein – 3.5g

 

Leave a Reply

