A Slight Setback

Yesterday was quite the day. I woke up refreshed and ready to take on my Crossfit WOD. I looked at the workout online and was actually excited because the focus was cardio, obviously with some strength. I was able to complete the warm up and strength sections beautifully. Then the work out. dun dun DUN!

3 sets AMRAMP
3 minutes – wall walks
2 minutes – box jumps
1 minute – I don’t even remember (I looked it up.. wall balls)
1 minute rest

I only made it through half of the first round. Walls walks killed me but box jumps really had me in.  I slipped off a box and sprained my ankle and fractured my foot. Anger was the first thing to come over me (and is still trying to work its way out of my pores). The next thoughts: “I signed up for 3 NYRR races last night,  I have an 8 mile run tomorrow, the Brooklyn half is coming up, I live in NYC… I walk everywhere, I have a dog who needs to be walked, there is a purpose for alfootl of this.” I should probably learn to cut out all of the first thoughts and focus on the last.. buuutt anywho…

I end up hobbling into work and then seeing my doctor who sends me 3/4 of a mile on crutches to get x-rays and then come back (I took a cab on the way back) to hear the bad news of being stuck in an air cast for an undetermined amount of time. All I know is I go back in a week and a half and we will see if I am able to start PT.

And to top it off, yesterday I also sliced my finger with a knife AND got stuck in an elevator. I say it was a win of a day.

But actually… it was a winning kind of day and here’s why: The generosity of people is astounding and my heart melts for them.

1. Coach Andy assisting me and making sure I was taken care of (even with using beers as ice packs) and then continuing to encourage me and let me know he will make modifications when I come back.
2. Claudette who was taking class, but took over coaching so Andy could attend to me
3. Becky who drove me home when she probably had to get home to get ready for work
4. Dr Rao who let me cry in his office and let me know I was the third of the day to do so
5. The x-ray technician who kept it real with me and put a smile on my face even when he gave me the bad news
6-20. Countless people who held doors for me since I’m super clutzy with my new legs
21. Meg, my physical therapist, who sent me an encouraging email
22. My coworkers who have checked up on me
23. Fallon who came over with froyo and just worked and kept me company
24. KT who stopped by and spent some time with us
25-35. Everyone who has offered to help me with anything I need
36. The man who gave up his seat on the subway
37. James who sent me encouraging scripture
38. My landlord.. or his dog, Mojo, rather… who dropped off 3 boxes of dog cookies for Toby
38. Toby, my dog, who is being a true champ and learning to love our courtyard and come inside when it’s time.

These are just SOME of the ways people have helped me in less than 24 hours. That is encouraging to see and my heart is so full. Though I still am working through being discouraged, I trust that there is a greater lesson in all of this. Maybe it was meant to work on my patience, maybe to develop better relationships, maybe learn to slow down and enjoy the little things or maybe to be able to empathize with other. Whatever it is, there’s a purpose. I sign off with one  verse that was sent me by my friend James:

Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way.
~James 1:2-4

Leave a Reply

