Portobello Mushroom Pizza

First off – it SNOWED last night. Yes, snow. I woke up to a dusting on the ground and cars when I let Toby out. It has been in the 60-70s the past few days. What the heck, Mother Nature?

The morning tipped off busily as I finished my laundry and grocery shopping before 10:30am. (Who would have thought that there would be NO ONE at the laundromat on Wednesday mornings at 8am…) I like having days off during the week because I can wear spandex and a jacket with the boot on one foot and a Croc on the other with no one except the elderly to see. No expectations. And yes, I did say Croc. I had forgotten how comfortable they can be! Despite their appearance.

Anywho, I worked up an appetite by 11am so I wanted something quick, easy and healthy. I toyed with making a cauliflower pizza, but it took too long, so I settled with the idea of a portobello pizza. SO simple.

Portobello Mushroom Pizzaportobello mushroom

Ingredients:
1lb lean ground beef (You will only use 4oz, but I am saving the rest for another dish.)
1/2 yellow onion, diced
2 portobello mushrooms, de-stemmed
1/4 cup tomato sauce (sugar-free)
1/4 cup mozzarella cheese
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp basil
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Put the ground beef in a pan and brown. Just before complete, add in the onions and spices and let them cook down. Pat any debris off of the mushrooms with a damp paper towel and gently brush with a bit of olive oil. Place on a pan and add tomato sauce, then a quarter of the beef mixture and top it off with mozzarella cheese. Let cook in oven for about 10 minutes.

Nutrition:
1 Serving
Calories – 293
Fat – 9.8g
Carbs – 19.1g
Protein – 35.3g

Leave a Reply

