Blueberry Peach Crumble

What a beautiful day it was today! After having another dose of winter temperatures, today was much appreciated.

I’m going to back it up to last night. Good Friday. I was working but had to take Toby outside and I saw police lights going at the end of my street and someone talking on a megaphone. Naturally, my curiosity took me toward it and I realized that the Catholic church I live across from had speakers into the street of their Good Friday service in Spanish and then in English. Hello! If you won’t come to church, then church will meet you where you’re at — walking on the street! I loved that. The church is very active in their community, offering movie nights in their parking lot over the summer and a fair and so much else just to get people involved. The church is very loud and that was seen in blaring their service and also in the lifelike Jesus statue with blood dripping down the forehead, carrying the cross set in front of the church. The statue was a huge reminder to me of Who was sacrificed for me, but I’m not sure what others thought of it. While I’m not Catholic, I can appreciate the church trying to meet people where they are. You are never in a place where you can’t be reached by God. I tried opening my window to catch some of the service while I worked, but the speakers were facing the wrong way. Drat!

To give my sweet tooth its fix, I managed to make a blueberry peach crumble this evening. These go so perfectly into the smaller mason jars I have. I have a problem with portion control, so the jars are a great fix!

Ingredientsbaked blueberry peach crumble
1-1/2 cup almond flour
1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1 cup roughly chopped pecans or walnuts
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp – cinnamon
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/3 cup melted butter or coconut oil (I used half of each)
1 tsp vanilla
Fruit – can use fresh or frozen (thawed)

Instructions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together almond flour, salt, coconut, nuts and cinnamon. Then mix in melted butter or coconut oil, maple syrup and vanilla. (I could eat just this batter raw… better than cookie dough!) Put 5 (8 oz) mason jars on a baking sheet. Line the bottom quarter with your fruit of choice. I used frozen blueberries and peaches. Add a layer of the crumble and be sure to push it down to make the most room! Then do another layer of fruit and the crumble. Bake for 30-35 minutes, until the top is slightly browned. Top with whipped cream or ice cream and enjoy!

Nutrition
1 serving (of 5)
Calories – 602
Fat – 53.3g
Carbs – 33.1h
Protein – 11.7h

*You could also bake this in a casserole dish, just do one layer of fruit at the bottom with the crumble on top!
**You could also eat this without baking, as a cool sweet oatmeal-esque treat!!

The crumble without baking it! Just as delicious as it warmed up!

The crumble without baking it! Just as delicious as it warmed up!

Leave a Reply

