Cauliflower Casserole from Bravo For Paleo

I never was a blog follower until I stumbled upon peanut butter fingers. She has lots of great recipes, workouts, product reviews and her dog Sadie is the cutest! I was introduced to overnight oats, which is now a constant staple – I don’t know how many variations I’ve made at this point! That was about a year and a half ago. About 3 or 4 months ago I stumbled upon PaleOMG who also has awesome recipes and a super cute dog, Jackson! Not to mention both of the blogs are run by women named Julie/Juli.

I find that I often will buy something from the grocery store knowing what I’m going to use it for, but then deciding against it when the time comes to make it. Today I found myself with a head of cauliflower that was meant to be for a cauliflower pizza crust then after I decided against that, for more cauliflower popcorn and then I decided against that as well. I went to my favorite bloggers to see how they have used cauliflower and came across this guest post by Bravo for Paleo on PaleOMG. I made a few slight alterations to the recipe to match my needs:

Ingredients cauliflower casserole

1 head of cauliflower
4 pieces of bacon
3 green onions
½ sticks of pastured butter
1/8 cup heavy cream
3.5 oz of chèvre (goat cheese)
Salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions
  1. Cut up cauliflower. Put in large stock pot and cover with water.
  2. Bring to a boil on high heat. Continue boiling until cauliflower is very soft when stuck with a fork. Drain in colander.
  3. While cauliflower is cooking, bake bacon in oven on 400 for 15 minutes or until crisp. Drain on paper towel and then crumble.
  4. Chop up green onions. Melt butter in stock pot on low heat. Add green onions and sauté until soft. Turn off heat.
  5. **Put drained cauliflower in food processor to mash up
  6. Return cauliflower to the pot and add heavy cream and mix
  7. Add chèvre, crumbled bacon, sea salt and pepper to taste. Blend well.
  8. **Split between 4 (16oz) mason jars on a baking sheet. Place in oven for 30 minutes.

**My alternations because I don’t have a potato masher and I don’t have patience to use a fork. I also like to have ready made servings to grab on the go to work or for quick access to a meal.

I used this recipe as a main dish, though it really isn’t one. This would be great paired with a steak and green beans. Obviously, the serving size will change depending on how it is used.

Nutrition:
1 serving (of 4)
Calories – 322
Fat – 25.4g
Carbs – 11.3g
Protein – 13.7g

Leave a Reply

